Article 52.

Miscellaneous Police Regulations.

§ 14-381. Desecration of State and United States flag.

It shall be unlawful for any person willfully and knowingly to cast contempt upon any flag of the United States or upon any flag of North Carolina by public acts of physical contact including, but not limited to, mutilation, defiling, defacing or trampling. Any person violating this section shall be deemed guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.

The flag of the United States, as used in this section, shall be the same as defined in 4 U.S.C.A. 1 and 4 U.S.C.A. 2. The flag of North Carolina, as used in this section, shall be the same as defined in G.S. 144-1. (1917, c. 271; C.S., s. 4500; 1971, c. 295; 1993, c. 539, s. 253; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-382. Pollution of water on lands used for dairy purposes.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation owning lands adjoining the lands of any person, firm, or corporation which are or may be used for dairy purposes or for grazing milk cows, to dispose of or permit disposal of any animal, mineral, chemical, or vegetable refuse, sewage or other deleterious matter in such way as to pollute the water on the lands so used or which may be used for dairy purposes or for grazing milk cows, or to render unfit or unsafe for use the milk produced from cows feeding upon the grasses and herbage growing on such lands. This section shall not apply to incorporated towns maintaining a sewer system. Anyone violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, and each day that such pollution is committed or exists shall constitute a separate offense. (1919, c. 222; C.S., s. 4501; 1993, c. 539, s. 254; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-383. Cutting timber on town watershed without disposing of boughs and debris; misdemeanor.

Any person, firm or corporation owning lands or the standing timber on lands within 400 feet of any watershed held or owned by any city or town, for the purpose of furnishing a city or town water supply, upon cutting or removing the timber or permitting the same cut or removed from lands so within 400 feet of said watershed, or any part thereof, shall, within three months after cutting, or earlier upon written notice by said city or town, remove or cause to be burned under proper supervision all treetops, boughs, laps and other portions of timber not desired to be taken for commercial or other purposes, within 400 feet of the boundary line of such part of such watershed as is held or owned by such town or city, so as to leave such space of 400 feet immediately adjoining the boundary line of such watershed, so held or owned, free and clear of all such treetops, laps, boughs and other inflammable material caused by or left from cutting such standing timber, so as to prevent the spread of fire from such cutover area and the consequent damage to such watershed. Any such person, firm or corporation violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1913, c. 56; C.S., s. 4502; 1969, c. 1224, s. 1; 1993, c. 539, s. 255; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-384. Injuring notices and advertisements.

If any person shall wantonly or maliciously mutilate, deface, pull or tear down, destroy or otherwise damage any notice, sign or advertisement, unless immoral or obscene, whether put up by an officer of the law in performance of the duties of his office or by some other person for a lawful purpose, before the object for which such notice, sign or advertisement was posted shall have been

accomplished, he shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. Nothing herein contained shall apply to any person mutilating, defacing, pulling or tearing down, destroying or otherwise damaging notices, signs or advertisements put upon his own land or lands of which he may have charge or control, unless consent of such person to put up such notice, sign or advertisement shall have first been obtained, except those put up by an officer of the law in the performance of the duties of his office. (1885, c. 302; Rev., s. 3709; C.S., s. 4503; 1993, c. 539, s. 256; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-385. Defacing or destroying public notices and advertisements.

If any person shall willfully and unlawfully deface, tear down, remove or destroy any legal notice or advertisement authorized by law to be posted by any officer or other person, the same being actually posted at the time of such defacement, tearing down, removal or destruction, during the time for which such legal notice or advertisement shall be authorized by law to be posted, he shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. (1876-7, c. 215; Code, s. 981; Rev., s. 3710; C.S., s. 4504; 1993, c. 539, s. 257; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

- § 14-386: Repealed by Session Laws 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 72(21).
- § 14-387. Repealed by Session Laws 1945, c. 635.
- § 14-388. Repealed by Session Laws 1943, c. 543.
- § 14-389: Repealed by Session Laws 1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 767, s. 30(17).
- §§ 14-390 through 14-390.1. Repealed by Session Laws 1969, c. 970, s. 11.

§ 14-391. Usurious loans on household and kitchen furniture or assignment of wages.

Any person, firm or corporation who shall lend money in any manner whatsoever by note, chattel mortgage, conditional sale, or purported conditional sale or otherwise, upon any article of household or kitchen furniture, or any assignment of wages, earned or to be earned, and shall willfully:

- (1) Take, receive, reserve or charge a greater rate of interest than permitted by law, either before or after the interest may accrue; or
- (2) Refuse to give receipts for payments on interest or principal of such loan; or
- (3) Fail or refuse to surrender the note and security when the same is paid off or a new note and mortgage is given in renewal, unless such new mortgage shall state the amount still due by the old note or mortgage and that the new one is given as additional security;

shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and in addition thereto shall be subject to the provisions of G.S. 24-2. (1907, c. 110; C.S., s. 4509; 1927, c. 72; 1959, c. 195; 1977, c. 807; 1993, c. 539, s. 259; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

- §§ 14-392 through 14-393: Repealed by Session Laws 1989, c. 508, s. 4.
- § 14-394. Anonymous or threatening letters, mailing or transmitting.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation, or any association of persons in this State, under whatever name styled, to write and transmit any letter, note, or writing, whether written, printed, or drawn, without signing his, her, their, or its true name thereto, threatening any person or persons, firm or corporation, or officers thereof with any personal injury or violence or destruction of property of such individuals, firms, or corporations, or using therein any language or threats of any kind or nature calculated to intimidate or place in fear any such persons, firms or corporations, or officers thereof, as to their personal safety or the safety of their property, or using vulgar or obscene language, or using such language which if published would bring such persons into public contempt and disgrace, and any person, firm, or corporation violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. (1921, c. 112; C.S., s. 4511(a); 1993, c. 539, s. 260; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-395. Commercialization of American Legion emblem; wearing by nonmembers.

It shall be unlawful for anyone not a member of the American Legion, an organization consisting of ex-members of the United States Army, Navy and Marine Corps, who served as members of such organizations in the recent world war, to wear upon his or her person the recognized emblem of the American Legion, or to use the said emblem for advertising purposes, or to commercialize the same in any way whatsoever; or to use the said emblem in display upon his or her property or place of business, or at any place whatsoever. Anyone violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. (1923, c. 89; C.S., s. 4511(b); 1993, c. 539, s. 261; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2011-183, s. 127(b).)

§ 14-395.1. Sexual harassment.

- (a) Offense. Any lessor of residential real property or the agent of any lessor of residential real property who shall harass on the basis of sex any lessee or prospective lessee of the property shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.
 - (b) Definitions. For purposes of this section:
 - (1) "Harass on the basis of sex" means unsolicited overt requests or demands for sexual acts when (i) submission to such conduct is made a term of the execution or continuation of the lease agreement, or (ii) submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used to determine whether rights under the lease are accorded;
 - (2) "Lessee" means a person who enters into a residential rental agreement with the lessor and all other persons residing in the lessee's rental unit; and
 - "Prospective lessee" means a person seeking to enter into a residential rental agreement with a lessor. (1989, c. 712; 1993, c. 539, s. 262; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§§ 14-396 through 14-397: Repealed by Session Laws 1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 767, s. 30(18), (19).

§ 14-398. Theft or destruction of property of public libraries, museums, etc.

Any person who shall steal or unlawfully take or detain, or willfully or maliciously or wantonly write upon, cut, tear, deface, disfigure, soil, obliterate, break or destroy, or who shall sell or buy or receive, knowing the same to have been stolen, any book, document, newspaper, periodical, map, chart, picture, portrait, engraving, statue, coin, medal, apparatus, specimen, or other work of

literature or object of art or curiosity deposited in a public library, gallery, museum, collection, fair or exhibition, or in any department or office of State or local government, or in a library, gallery, museum, collection, or exhibition, belonging to any incorporated college or university, or any incorporated institution devoted to educational, scientific, literary, artistic, historical or charitable purposes, shall, if the value of the property stolen, detained, sold, bought or received knowing same to have been stolen, or if the damage done by writing upon, cutting, tearing, defacing, disfiguring, soiling, obliterating, breaking or destroying any such property, shall not exceed fifty dollars (\$50.00), be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the value of the property stolen, detained, sold or received knowing same to have been stolen, or the amount of damage done in any of the ways or manners hereinabove set out, shall exceed the sum of fifty dollars (\$50.00), the person committing same shall be punished as a Class H felon. (1935, c. 300; 1943, c. 543; 1979, c. 760, s. 5; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1316, s. 47; 1981, c. 63, s. 1, c. 179, s. 14; 1993, c. 539, s. 265; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-399. Littering.

- (a) No person, including any firm, organization, private corporation, or governing body, agents or employees of any municipal corporation shall intentionally or recklessly throw, scatter, spill or place or intentionally or recklessly cause to be blown, scattered, spilled, thrown or placed or otherwise dispose of any litter upon any public property or private property not owned by the person within this State or in the waters of this State including any public highway, public park, lake, river, ocean, beach, campground, forestland, recreational area, trailer park, highway, road, street or alley except:
 - (1) When the property is designated by the State or political subdivision thereof for the disposal of garbage and refuse, and the person is authorized to use the property for this purpose; or
 - (2) Into a litter receptacle in a manner that the litter will be prevented from being carried away or deposited by the elements upon any part of the private or public property or waters.
- (a1) No person, including any firm, organization, private corporation, or governing body, agents, or employees of any municipal corporation shall scatter, spill, or place or cause to be blown, scattered, spilled, or placed or otherwise dispose of any litter upon any public property or private property not owned by the person within this State or in the waters of this State including any public highway, public park, lake, river, ocean, beach, campground, forestland, recreational area, trailer park, highway, road, street, or alley except:
 - (1) When the property is designated by the State or political subdivision thereof for the disposal of garbage and refuse, and the person is authorized to use the property for this purpose; or
 - (2) Into a litter receptacle in a manner that the litter will be prevented from being carried away or deposited by the elements upon any part of the private or public property or waters.
- (a2) Subsection (a1) of this section does not apply to the accidental blowing, scattering, or spilling of an insignificant amount of municipal solid waste, as defined in G.S. 130A-290(18a), during the automated loading of a vehicle designed and constructed to transport municipal solid waste if the vehicle is operated in a reasonable manner and according to manufacturer specifications.

- (b) When litter is blown, scattered, spilled, thrown or placed from a vehicle or watercraft, the operator thereof shall be presumed to have committed the offense. This presumption, however, does not apply to a vehicle transporting nontoxic and biodegradable agricultural or garden products or supplies, including mulch, tree bark, wood chips, and raw logs.
- (c) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this section in an amount not exceeding 10 pounds and not for commercial purposes is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars (\$500.00) nor more than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for the first offense. In addition, the court may require the violator to perform community service of not less than eight hours nor more than 24 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed. Any second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this section in an amount not exceeding 10 pounds and not for commercial purposes within three years after the date of a prior violation is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) nor more than three thousand dollars (\$3,000). In addition, the court may require the violator to perform community service of not less than 16 hours nor more than 50 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed.
- (c1) Any person who violates subsection (a1) of this section in an amount not exceeding 10 pounds is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than two hundred dollars (\$200.00). In addition, the court may require the violator to perform community service of not less than four hours nor more than 12 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed. Any second or subsequent violation of subsection (a1) of this section in an amount not exceeding 10 pounds within three years after the date of a prior violation is an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars (\$500.00). In addition, the court may require the violator to perform community service of not less than eight hours nor more than 24 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed. For purposes of this subsection, the term "litter" shall not include nontoxic and biodegradable agricultural or garden products or supplies, including mulch, tree bark, and wood chips.
- (d) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this section in an amount exceeding 10 pounds but not exceeding 500 pounds and not for commercial purposes is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) nor more than three thousand dollars (\$3,000). In addition, the court shall require the violator to perform community service of not less than 50 hours nor more than 100 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other community service commensurate with the offense committed.
- (d1) Any person who violates subsection (a1) of this section in an amount exceeding 10 pounds but not exceeding 500 pounds is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars (\$500.00). In addition, the court may require the violator to perform community service of not less than 24 hours nor more than 50 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed.
- (e) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this section in an amount exceeding 500 pounds or in any quantity for commercial purposes, or who discards litter that is a hazardous waste as defined in G.S. 130A-290 is guilty of a Class I felony punishable by a fine of five thousand

dollars (\$5,000). In addition, the court shall require the violator to perform community service of not less than 100 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other community service commensurate with the offense committed.

- (e1) Any person who violates subsection (a1) of this section in an amount exceeding 500 pounds is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500). In addition, the court shall require the violator to perform community service of not less than 50 hours. The community service required shall be to pick up litter if feasible, and if not feasible, to perform other labor commensurate with the offense committed.
- (e2) If any person violates subsection (a) or (a1) of this section in an amount exceeding 10 pounds or in any quantity for commercial purposes, or discards litter that is a hazardous waste as defined in G.S. 130A-290, the court shall order the violator to:
 - (1) Remove, or render harmless, the litter that he discarded in violation of this section;
 - (2) Repair or restore property damaged by, or pay damages for any damage arising out of, his discarding litter in violation of this section; or
 - (3) Perform community public service relating to the removal of litter discarded in violation of this section or to the restoration of an area polluted by litter discarded in violation of this section.
- (e3) Any violation of this section involving the disposal of any litter into the waters of this State shall be punished as a violation of subsection (a) of this section.
 - (f) A court may enjoin a violation of this section.
- (f1) If a violation of subsection (a) of this section involves the operation of a motor vehicle, upon a finding of guilt, the court shall forward a record of the finding to the Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, which shall record a penalty of one point on the violator's drivers license pursuant to the point system established by G.S. 20-16. There shall be no insurance premium surcharge or assessment of points under the classification plan adopted under G.S. 58-36-65 for a finding of guilt under this section.
- (g) A motor vehicle, vessel, aircraft, container, crane, winch, or machine involved in the disposal of more than 500 pounds of litter in violation of subsection (a) of this section is declared contraband and is subject to seizure and summary forfeiture to the State.
- (h) If a person sustains damages arising out of a violation of subsection (a) of this section that is punishable as a felony, a court, in a civil action for the damages, shall order the person to pay the injured party threefold the actual damages or two hundred dollars (\$200.00), whichever amount is greater. In addition, the court shall order the person to pay the injured party's court costs and attorney's fees.
 - (i) For the purpose of the section, unless the context requires otherwise:
 - (1) "Aircraft" means a motor vehicle or other vehicle that is used or designed to fly, but does not include a parachute or any other device used primarily as safety equipment.
 - (2) Repealed by Session Laws 1999-454, s. 1.
 - (2a) "Commercial purposes" means litter discarded by a business, corporation, association, partnership, sole proprietorship, or any other entity conducting business for economic gain, or by an employee or agent of the entity.
 - (3) "Law enforcement officer" means any law enforcement officer sworn and certified pursuant to Article 1 of Chapter 17C or 17E of the General Statutes, except company police officers as defined in G.S. 74E-6(b)(3). In addition, and

- solely for the purposes of this section, "law enforcement officer" means any employee of a county or municipality designated by the county or municipality as a litter enforcement officer.
- (4) "Litter" means any garbage, rubbish, trash, refuse, can, bottle, box, container, wrapper, paper, paper product, tire, appliance, mechanical equipment or part, building or construction material, tool, machinery, wood, motor vehicle or motor vehicle part, vessel, aircraft, farm machinery or equipment, sludge from a waste treatment facility, water supply treatment plant, or air pollution control facility, dead animal, or discarded material in any form resulting from domestic, industrial, commercial, mining, agricultural, or governmental operations. While being used for or distributed in accordance with their intended uses, "litter" does not include political pamphlets, handbills, religious tracts, newspapers, and other similar printed materials the unsolicited distribution of which is protected by the Constitution of the United States or the Constitution of North Carolina.
- (5) "Vehicle" has the same meaning as in G.S. 20-4.01(49).
- (6) "Watercraft" means any boat or vessel used for transportation across the water.
- (j) It shall be the duty of all law enforcement officers to enforce the provisions of this section.
- (k) This section does not limit the authority of any State or local agency to enforce other laws, rules or ordinances relating to litter or solid waste management. (1935, c. 457; 1937, c. 446; 1943, c. 543; 1951, c. 975, s. 1; 1953, cc. 387, 1011; 1955, c. 437; 1957, cc. 73, 175; 1959, c. 1173; 1971, c. 165; 1973, c. 877; 1977, c. 887, s. 1; 1979, c. 1065, s. 1; 1983, c. 890; 1987, cc. 208, 757; 1989, c. 784, ss. 7.1, 8; 1991, c. 609, s. 1; c. 720, s. 49; c. 725, s. 1; 1993, c. 539, ss. 266, 267, 1241; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 1997-518, s. 1; 1998-217, s. 2; 1999-294, s. 4; 1999-454, s. 1; 2001-512, s. 1; 2024-30, s. 28(a).)

§ 14-399.1. Repealed by Session Laws 1989, c. 784, s. 7.

§ 14-399.2. Certain plastic yoke and ring type holding devices prohibited.

- (a) As used in this section:
 - (1) "Degradable" means that within one year after being discarded, the yoke or ring type holding device is capable of becoming embrittled or decomposing by photodegradation, biodegradation, or chemo-degradation under average seasonal conditions into components other than heavy metals or other toxic substances.
 - (2) "Recyclable" means that the yoke or ring type holding device is capable of being collected and processed for reuse as a product or raw material.
- (b) No person may sell or distribute for sale in this State any container connected to another by a yoke or ring type holding device constructed of plastic that is neither degradable nor recyclable. No person may sell or distribute for sale in this State any container connected to another by a yoke or ring type holding device constructed of plastic that is recyclable but that is not degradable unless such device does not have an orifice larger than one and three-fourths inches. The manufacturer of a degradable yoke or ring type holding device shall emboss or mark the device with a nationally recognized symbol indicating that the device is degradable. The manufacturer of a recyclable yoke or ring type holding device shall emboss or mark the device with a symbol of the type specified in G.S. 130A-309.10(e) indicating the plastic resin used to produce the device and

that the device is recyclable. The manufacturer shall register the symbol with the Secretary of State with a sample of the device.

- (c) Any person who sells or distributes for sale a yoke or ring type holding device in violation of this section shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than fifty dollars (\$50.00) nor more than two hundred dollars (\$200.00). In lieu of a fine or any portion thereof or in addition to a fine, any violation of this section may also be punished by a term of community service.
- (d) Other than a manufacturer required to use and register a symbol under subsection (b), a person may not be prosecuted under this section if, at the time of sale or distribution for sale, the yoke or holding device bears a symbol meeting the requirements of this section which has been registered with the Secretary of State. (1989, c. 371; 1991, c. 236, c. 621, s. 14; 1993, c. 539, s. 268; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-399.3. Duty to stop in event of certain spills from vehicles.

The driver of any vehicle who knows or reasonably should know that (i) animal waste, as defined in G.S. 143-215.10B, except for livestock or poultry excreta generated by live animals being transported on the vehicle, (ii) dead animals or animal parts except for feathers from live birds being transported on the vehicle, or (iii) animal by-products have been blown, scattered, spilled, thrown, or placed from the vehicle shall immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the incident. The driver shall remain with the vehicle at the scene of the incident until a law enforcement officer completes the investigation of the incident or authorizes the driver to leave and the vehicle to be removed, unless remaining at the scene places the driver or others at significant risk of injury.

Prior to the completion of the investigation of the incident by a law enforcement officer, or the consent of the officer to leave, the driver may not facilitate, allow, or agree to the removal of the vehicle from the scene for any purpose other than to call for a law enforcement officer; to call for assistance in removing the materials that were blown, scattered, thrown, spilled, or placed from the vehicle; or to remove oneself or others from significant risk of injury. If the driver does leave for a reason permitted by this section, then the driver must return with the vehicle to the scene of the incident within a reasonable period of time, unless otherwise instructed by a law enforcement officer. A willful violation of this section shall be punished as a Class 3 misdemeanor, and the court may order restitution for the cost of removing the materials that were blown, scattered, thrown, spilled, or placed from the vehicle. (2023-63, s. 4.1(a).)

§ 14-400. Tattooing; body piercing prohibited.

- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to tattoo the arm, limb, or any part of the body of any other person under 18 years of age. Anyone violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.
- (b) It shall be unlawful for any person to pierce any part of the body other than ears of another person under the age of 18 for the purpose of allowing the insertion of earrings, jewelry, or similar objects into the body, unless the prior consent of a custodial parent or guardian is obtained. Anyone violating the provisions of this section is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1937, c. 112, ss. 1, 2; 1969, c. 1224, s. 8; 1971, c. 1231, s. 1; 1993, c. 539, s. 269; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 1998-230, s. 9.)

§ 14-401. Putting poisonous foodstuffs, antifreeze, etc., in certain public places, prohibited.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to put or place (i) any strychnine, other poisonous compounds or ground glass on any beef or other foodstuffs of any kind, or (ii) any antifreeze that contains ethylene glycol and is not in a closed container, in any public square, street, lane, alley or on any lot in any village, town or city or on any public road, open field, woods or yard in the country. Any person, firm or corporation who violates the provisions of this section shall be liable in damages to the person injured thereby and also shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section shall not apply to the poisoning of insects or worms for the purpose of protecting crops or gardens by spraying plants, crops, or trees, to poisons used in rat extermination, or to the accidental release of antifreeze containing ethylene glycol. (1941, c. 181; 1953, c. 1239; 1993, c. 143, c. 539, s. 270; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.1. Misdemeanor to tamper with examination questions.

Any person who, without authority of the entity who prepares or administers the examination, purloins, steals, buys, receives, or sells, gives or offers to buy, give, or sell any examination questions or copies thereof of any examination provided and prepared by law shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1917, c. 146, s. 10; C.S., s. 5658; 1969, c. 1224, s. 3; 1991, c. 360, s. 2; 1993, c. 539, s. 271; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.2. Misdemeanor for detective to collect claims, accounts, etc.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation, who or which is engaged in business as a detective, detective agency, or what is ordinarily known as "secret service work," or conducts such business, to engage in the business of collecting claims, accounts, bills, notes, or other money obligations for others, or to engage in the business known as a collection agency. Violation of the provisions hereof shall be a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1943, c. 383; 1969, c. 1224, s. 5; 1993, c. 539, s. 272; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.3. Inscription on gravestone or monument charging commission of crime.

It shall be illegal for any person to erect or cause to be erected any gravestone or monument bearing any inscription charging any person with the commission of a crime, and it shall be illegal for any person owning, controlling or operating any cemetery to permit such gravestone to be erected and maintained therein. If such gravestone has been erected in any graveyard, cemetery or burial plot, it shall be the duty of the person having charge thereof to remove and obliterate such inscription. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1949, c. 1075; 1969, c. 1224, s. 8; 1993, c. 539, s. 273; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.4. Identifying marks on machines and apparatus; application to Division of Motor Vehicles for numbers.

(a) No person, firm or corporation shall willfully remove, deface, destroy, alter or cover over the manufacturer's serial or engine number or any other manufacturer's number or other distinguishing number or identification mark upon any machine or other apparatus, including but not limited to farm equipment, machinery and apparatus, but excluding electric storage batteries, nor shall any person, firm or corporation place or stamp any serial, engine, or other number or mark upon such machinery, apparatus or equipment except as provided for in this section, nor shall any person, firm or corporation purchase or take into possession or sell, trade, transfer, devise, give away or in any manner dispose of such machinery, apparatus, or equipment except by intestate

succession or as junk or scrap after the manufacturer's serial or engine number or mark has been willfully removed, defaced, destroyed, altered or covered up unless a new number or mark has been added as provided in this section: Provided, however, that this section shall not prohibit or prevent the owner or holder of a mortgage, conditional sales contract, title retaining contract, or a trustee under a deed of trust from taking possession for the purpose of foreclosure under a power of sale or by court order, of such machinery, apparatus, or equipment, or from selling the same by foreclosure sale under a power contained in a mortgage, conditional sales contract, title retaining contract, deed of trust, or court order; or from taking possession thereof in satisfaction of the indebtedness secured by the mortgage, deed of trust, conditional sales contract, or title retaining contract pursuant to an agreement with the owner.

- (b) Each seller of farm machinery, farm equipment or farm apparatus covered by this section shall give the purchaser a bill of sale for such machinery, equipment or apparatus and shall include in the bill of sale the manufacturer's serial number or distinguishing number or identification mark, which the seller warrants to be true and correct according to his invoice or bill of sale as received from his manufacturer, supplier, or distributor or dealer.
- Each user of farm machinery, farm equipment or farm apparatus whose manufacturer's serial number, distinguishing number or identification mark has been obliterated or is now unrecognizable, may obtain a valid identification number for any such machinery, equipment or apparatus upon application for such number to the Division of Motor Vehicles accompanied by satisfactory proof of ownership and a subsequent certification to the Division by a member of the North Carolina Highway Patrol that said applicant has placed the number on the proper machinery, equipment or apparatus. The Division of Motor Vehicles is hereby authorized and empowered to issue appropriate identification marks or distinguishing numbers for machinery, equipment or apparatus upon application as provided in this section and the Division is further authorized and empowered to designate the place or places on the machinery, equipment or apparatus at which the identification marks or distinguishing numbers shall be placed. The Division is also authorized to designate the method to be used in placing the identification marks or distinguishing numbers on the machinery, equipment or apparatus: Provided, however, that the owner or holder of the mortgage conditional sales contract, title retaining contract, or trustee under a deed of trust in possession of such encumbered machinery, equipment, or apparatus from which the manufacturer's serial or engine number or other manufacturer's number or distinguishing mark has been obliterated or has become unrecognizable or the purchaser at the foreclosure sale thereof, may at any time obtain a valid identification number for any such machinery, equipment or apparatus upon application therefor to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
- (d) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, any person, firm, or corporation who shall violate any part of this section shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the machine or other apparatus was valued at more than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) at the time of the offense, then the person, firm, or corporation shall be guilty of a Class H felony. (1949, c. 928; 1951, c. 1110 s. 1; 1953, c. 257; 1975, c. 716, s. 5; 1993, c. 539, s. 274; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2021-36, s. 2.)

§ 14-401.5: Repealed by Session Laws 2004-203, s. 21, effective August 17, 2004.

§ 14-401.6. Unlawful to possess, etc., tear gas except for certain purposes.

(a) It is unlawful for any person, firm, corporation or association to possess, use, store, sell, or transport within the State of North Carolina, any form of that type of gas generally known as

"tear gas," or any container or device for holding or releasing that gas; except this section does not apply to the possession, use, storage, sale or transportation of that gas or any container or device for holding or releasing that gas:

- (1) By officers and enlisted personnel of the Armed Forces of the United States or this State while in the discharge of their official duties and acting under orders requiring them to carry arms or weapons;
- (2) By or for any governmental agency for official use of the agency;
- (3) By or for county, municipal or State law-enforcement officers in the discharge of their official duties:
- (4) By or for security guards registered under Chapter 74C of the General Statutes, company police officers commissioned under Chapter 74E of the General Statutes, or campus police officers commissioned under Chapter 74G of the General Statutes provided they are on duty and have received training according to standards prescribed by the State Bureau of Investigation;
- (5) For bona fide scientific, educational, or industrial purposes;
- (6) In safes, vaults, and depositories, as a means or protection against robbery;
- (7) For use in the home for protection and elsewhere by individuals, who have not been convicted of a felony, for self-defense purposes only, as long as the capacity of any:
 - a. Tear gas device or container does not exceed 150 cubic centimeters,
 - b. Tear gas cartridge or shell does not exceed 50 cubic centimeters, and
 - c. Tear gas device or container does not have the capability of discharging any cartridge, shell, or container larger than 50 cubic centimeters.
- (b) Violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor.
- (c) Tear gas for the purpose of this section shall mean any solid, liquid or gaseous substance or combinations thereof which will, upon dispersion in the atmosphere, cause tears in the eyes, burning of the skin, coughing, difficulty in breathing or any one or more of these reactions and which will not cause permanent damage to the human body, and the substance and container or device is designed, manufactured, and intended to be used as tear gas. (1951, c. 592; 1969, c. 1224, s. 8; 1977, c. 126; 1979, c. 661; 1983, c. 794, s. 9; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 1043, s. 2; 1993, c. 151, s. 1; c. 539, s. 276; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2005-231, s. 10; 2011-183, s. 12.)

§ 14-401.7. Persons, firms, banks and corporations dealing in securities on commission taxed as a private banker.

No person, bank, or corporation, without a license authorized by law, shall act as a stockbroker or private banker. Any person, bank, or corporation that deals in foreign or domestic exchange certificates of debt, shares in any corporation or charter companies, bank or other notes, for the purpose of selling the same or any other thing for commission or other compensation, or who negotiates loans upon real estate securities, shall be deemed a security broker. Any person, bank, or corporation engaged in the business of negotiating loans on any class of security or in discounting, buying or selling negotiable or other papers or credits, whether in an office for the purpose or elsewhere shall be deemed to be a private banker. Any person, firm, or corporation violating this section shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and pay a fine of not less than one hundred (\$100.00) nor more than five hundred dollars (\$500.00) for each offense. (1939, c. 310, s. 1004; 1953, c. 970, s. 9; 1993, c. 539, s. 277; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.8: Repealed by Session Laws 2015-286, s. 1.1(2), effective October 22, 2015.

§ 14-401.9. Parking vehicle in private parking space without permission.

It shall be unlawful for any person other than the owner or lessee of a privately owned or leased parking space to park a motor or other vehicle in such private parking space without the express permission of the owner or lessee of such space; provided, that such private parking lot be clearly designated as such by a sign no smaller than 24 inches by 24 inches prominently displayed at the entrance thereto, and provided further, that the parking spaces within the lot be clearly marked by signs setting forth the name of each individual lessee or owner.

Any person violating any of the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more than ten dollars (\$10.00) in the discretion of the court. (1955, c. 1019; 1977, c. 398, s. 2; 1993, c. 539, s. 279; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.10. Soliciting advertisements for official publications of law-enforcement officers' associations.

Every person, firm or corporation who solicits any advertisement to be published in any law-enforcement officers' association's official magazine, yearbook, or other official publication, shall disclose to the person so solicited, whether so requested or not, the name of the law-enforcement association for which such advertisement is solicited, together with written authority from the president or secretary of such association to solicit such advertising on its behalf.

Any person, firm or corporation violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1961, c. 518; 1969, c. 1224, s. 8; 1993, c. 539, s. 280; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)

§ 14-401.11. Distribution of certain food or beverage prohibited.

- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly distribute, sell, give away or otherwise cause to be placed in a position of human accessibility or ingestion, any food, beverage, or other eatable or drinkable substance which that person knows to contain any of the following:
 - (1) Any noxious or deleterious substance, material or article which might be injurious to a person's health or might cause a person any physical discomfort.
 - (2) Any controlled substance included in any schedule of the Controlled Substances Act.
 - (3) Any poisonous chemical or compound or any foreign substance such as, but not limited to, razor blades, pins, and ground glass, which might cause death, serious physical injury or serious physical pain and discomfort.

(b) Penalties.

- (1) Any person violating the provisions of G.S. 14-401.11(a)(1):
 - a. Where the actual or possible effect on a person eating or drinking the food, beverage, or other substance was or would be limited to mild physical discomfort without any lasting effect, shall be guilty of a Class I felony.
 - b. Where the actual or possible effect on a person eating or drinking the food, beverage, or other substance was or would be greater than mild

physical discomfort without any lasting effect, shall be punished as a Class H felon.

- (2) Any person violating the provisions of G.S. 14-401.11(a)(2) shall be punished as a Class F felon.
- (3) Any person violating the provisions of G.S. 14-401.11(a)(3) shall be punished as a Class C felon. (1971, c. 564; 1973, c. 540, s. 1; 1979, c. 760, s. 5; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1316, s. 47; 1981, c. 63, s. 1; c. 179, s. 14; 1993, c. 539, s. 1242; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2019-245, s. 6(b).)

§ 14-401.12. Soliciting charitable contributions by telephone.

- (a) Any professional solicitor who solicits by telephone contributions for charitable purposes or in any way compensates another person to solicit by telephone contributions for charitable purposes shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any person compensated by a professional solicitor to solicit by telephone contributions for charitable purposes shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- (b) Definitions. Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the following terms as used in this section have the meanings hereinafter respectively ascribed to them:
 - (1) "Charitable purpose" shall mean any charitable, benevolent, religious, philanthropic, environmental, public or social advocacy or eleemosynary purpose for religion, health, education, social welfare, art and humanities, civic and public interest.
 - "Contribution" shall mean any promise, gift, devise or other grant for (2) consideration or otherwise, of any money or property of any kind or value, including the promise to pay, which contribution is wholly or partly induced by a solicitation. The term "contribution" shall not include payments by members of an organization for membership fees, dues, fines or assessments, or for services rendered to individual members, if membership in such organization confers a bona fide right, privilege, professional standing, honor or other direct benefit, other than the right to vote, elect officers, or hold offices; nor any money, credit, financial assistance or property received from any governmental authority; nor any donation of blood or any anatomical gift made pursuant to the Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act. Reference to dollar amounts of "contributions" or "solicitations" in this section means, in the case of payments or promises to pay for merchandise or rights of any description, the value of the total amount paid or promised to be paid for such merchandise or rights, and not merely that portion of the purchase price to be applied to a charitable purpose.
 - (3) "Professional fund-raising counsel" shall mean any person who for a flat fixed fee under a written agreement plans, conducts, manages, carries on, or acts as a consultant, whether directly or indirectly, in connection with soliciting contributions for, or on behalf of any charitable organization but who actually solicits no contributions as a part of such services.
 - (4) "Professional solicitor" shall mean any person who, for a financial or other consideration, solicits contributions for or on behalf of a charitable organization, whether such solicitation is performed personally or through its agents, servants or employees specially employed by or for a charitable organization, who are engaged in the solicitation of contributions under the

direction of such person; or a person who plans, conducts, manages, carries on, advises or acts as a consultant, whether directly or indirectly, to a charitable organization in connection with the solicitation of contributions but does not qualify as "professional fund-raising counsel" as defined in this section. A bona fide salaried officer or employee of a charitable organization maintaining a permanent establishment within the State or the bona fide salaried officer or employee of a parent organization certified as tax exempt shall not be deemed to be a professional solicitor.

- (5) The words "solicit" and "solicitation" shall mean the request or appeal, directly or indirectly, for any contribution on the plea or representation that such contribution will be used for a charitable purpose. Solicitation as defined herein shall be deemed to occur when the request is made, at the place the request is received, whether or not the person making the same actually receives any contribution.
- (c) A solicitation by telephone is presumed to be for a charitable purpose if the person making the solicitation states or implies that some other named person or organization, other than the professional solicitor or his employees, is a sponsor or endorser of the solicitation who will share in the proceeds that result from the telephone solicitation. (1981, c. 805, s. 1; 1993, c. 539, s. 281; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2007-538, s. 8; 2011-284, s. 10.)

§ 14-401.13. Failure to give right to cancel in off-premises sales.

- (a) It shall be a Class 3 misdemeanor for any sellers, as defined hereinafter, in connection with an off-premises sale, as defined hereinafter, willfully to:
 - (1) Fail to furnish the buyer with a fully completed receipt or copy of any contract pertaining to such sale at the time of its execution, which is in the same language, e.g., Spanish, as that principally used in the oral sales presentation and which shows the date of the transaction and contains the name and address of the seller, and in immediate proximity to the space reserved in the contract for the signature of the buyer or on the front page of the receipt if a contract is not used and in boldface type of a minimum size of 10 points, a statement in substantially the following form: "You, the buyer, may cancel this transaction at any time prior to midnight of the third business day after the date of this transaction. See the attached notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right."
 - (2) Fail to furnish each buyer, at the time he signs the off-premises sales contract or otherwise agrees to buy consumer goods or services from the seller, a completed form in duplicate, captioned "NOTICE OF CANCELLATION", which shall be attached to the contract or receipt and easily detachable, and which shall contain in boldface type in a minimum size of 10 points, the following information and statements in the same language, e.g., Spanish, as that used in the contract:

"NOTICE OF CANCELLATION

(enter date of transaction)

(date)

You may cancel this transaction, without any penalty or obligation, within three business days from the above date.

If you cancel, any property traded in, any payments made by you under the contract or sale, and any negotiable instrument executed by you will be returned within 10 business days following receipt by the seller of your cancellation notice and any security interest arising out of the transaction will be canceled.

If you cancel, you must make available to the seller at your residence, in substantially as good condition as when received, any goods delivered to you under this contract or sale; or you may, if you wish, comply with the instructions of the seller regarding the return shipment of the goods at the seller's expense and risk. In the event you purchased antiques at an antique show and cancel, and your residence is out-of-state, you must deliver the purchased goods to the seller.

If you do make the goods available to the seller and the seller does not pick them up within 20 days of the date of your notice of cancellation, you may retain or dispose of the goods without any further obligation. If you fail to make the goods available to the seller, or if you agree to return the goods to the seller and fail to do so, then you remain liable for performance of all obligations under the contract.

To cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice, or any other written notice, or send a telegram, to

	(name of seller)
at	
(address of seller's	place of business)
not later than midnight of	,
	(date)
I hereby cancel this tra	nsaction.
•	
(date)	

••

(buyer's signature)

- (3) Fail, before furnishing copies of the "Notice of Cancellation" to the buyer, to complete both copies by entering the name of the seller, the address of the seller's place of business, the date of the transaction, and the date, not earlier than the third business day following the date of the transaction, by which the buyer may give notice of cancellation.
- (4) Fail to inform each buyer orally, at the time he signs the contract or purchases the goods or services, of his right to cancel.
- (5) Misrepresent in any manner the buyer's right to cancel.
- (b) Regardless of the seller's compliance or noncompliance with the requirements of the preceding subsection, it shall be a Class 3 misdemeanor for any seller, as defined hereinafter, to willfully fail or refuse to honor any valid notice of cancellation by a buyer and within 10 business days after the receipt of such notice, to (i) refund all payments made under the contract or sale; (ii) return any goods or property traded in, in substantially as good condition as when received by the

- seller; (iii) cancel and return any negotiable instrument executed by the buyer in connection with the contract or sale and take any action necessary or appropriate to terminate promptly any security interest created in the transaction. If the seller failed to provide a form Notice of Cancellation to the buyer, then oral notice of cancellation by the buyer is sufficient for purposes of this subsection.
- (b1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (a) of this section, contracts for residential roof replacement or repair shall be subject to a five-business day cancellation period following an insurance claim denial for the work to be performed under the contract, during which time the seller shall not begin work or collect any payment until the five business days have expired. If the residential roofing contractor has performed emergency services, acknowledged by the insured in writing to be necessary to prevent further damage to the premises, the residential roofing contractor shall be entitled to collect the amount due for the emergency services at the time they are rendered. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a violation of this subsection is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
 - (c) For the purposes of this section, the following definitions shall apply:
 - (1) Off-Premises Sale. A sale, lease, or rental of consumer goods or services with a purchase price of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) or more, whether under single or multiple contracts, in which the seller or his representative personally solicits the sale, including those in response to or following an invitation by the buyer, and the buyer's agreement or offer to purchase is made at a place other than the place of business of the seller. The term "off-premises sale" does not include a transaction:
 - a. Made pursuant to prior negotiations in the course of a visit by the buyer to a retail business establishment having a fixed permanent location where the goods are exhibited or the services are offered for sale on a continuing basis; or
 - b. In which the consumer is accorded the right of rescission by the provisions of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 1635) or regulations issued pursuant thereto; or
 - c. In which the buyer has initiated the contact and the goods or services are needed to meet a bona fide immediate personal emergency of the buyer, and the buyer furnishes the seller with a separate dated and signed personal statement in the buyer's handwriting describing the situation requiring immediate remedy and expressly acknowledging and waiving the right to cancel the sale within three business days; or
 - d. Conducted and consummated entirely by mail or telephone; and without any other contact between the buyer and the seller or its representative prior to delivery of the goods or performance of the services; or
 - e. In which the buyer has initiated the contact and specifically requested the seller to visit his home for the purpose of repairing or performing maintenance upon the buyer's property. If in the course of such a visit, the seller sells the buyer the right to receive additional services or goods other than replacement parts necessarily used in performing the maintenance or in making the repairs, the sale of those additional goods or services would not fall within this exclusion; or

- f. Pertaining to the sale or rental of real property, to the sale of insurance or to the sale of securities or commodities by a broker-dealer registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission; or
- g. Executed at an auction; or
- h. Sales of motor vehicles defined in G.S. 20-286(10) by motor vehicle sales representatives licensed pursuant to G.S. 20-287 et seq.
- (2) Consumer Goods or Services. Goods or services purchased, leased, or rented primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, including residential roof replacement and repair services and courses of instruction or training regardless of the purpose for which they are taken.
- (3) Seller. Any person, partnership, corporation, or association engaged in the off-premises sale of consumer goods or services, including residential roof replacement and repair services. However, a nonprofit corporation or association, or member or employee thereof acting on behalf of such an association or corporation, shall not be a seller within the meaning of this section.
- (4) Place of Business. The main or permanent branch office or local address of a seller.
- (5) Purchase Price. The total price paid or to be paid for the consumer goods or services, including all interest and service charges.
- (6) Business Day. Any calendar day except Sunday, or the following business holidays: New Year's Day, Washington's Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans' Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and Good Friday.
- (7) Residential Roof Replacement and Repair Services. Reconstruction or repair of any part of an existing roof of a residential home for the purpose of its maintenance, including the total replacement of an existing roofing system, except when performed by a general contractor licensed pursuant to Article 1 of Chapter 87 of the General Statutes or a person or subcontractor working under the supervision of a licensed general contractor pursuant to Article 1 of Chapter 87 of the General Statutes. This definition does not include a person engaged in the retail sale of materials and products that may be used for the construction, installation, renovation, repair, maintenance, alteration, or waterproofing of a roof and, as part of that retail business, offers the installation of the materials and products. (1985, c. 652, s. 1; 1987, c. 551, ss. 1, 2; 1993, c. 141, s. 1; c. 539, s. 282; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2024-11, s. 1.)

§ 14-401.14. Ethnic intimidation; teaching any technique to be used for ethnic intimidation.

- (a) If a person shall, because of race, color, religion, nationality, or country of origin, assault another person, or damage or deface the property of another person, or threaten to do any such act, he shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- (b) A person who assembles with one or more persons to teach any technique or means to be used to commit any act in violation of subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. (1991, c. 493, s. 1; 1993, c. 332, s. 1; c. 539, s. 283; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 14(b); c. 24, s. 14(c); 1995, c. 509, s. 10.)

§ 14-401.15. Telephone sales recovery services.

- (a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, it shall be unlawful for any person or firm to solicit or require payment of money or other consideration in exchange for recovering or attempting to recover:
 - (1) Money or other valuable consideration previously tendered to a telephonic seller, as defined in G.S. 66-260; or
 - (2) Prizes, awards, or other things of value that the telephonic seller represented would be delivered.
- (b) A violation of this section shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any violation involving actual collection of money or other consideration from a customer shall be punishable as a Class H felony.
- (c) This section does not apply to attorneys licensed to practice law in this State, to persons licensed by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board, or to any collection agent properly holding a permit issued by the Department of Insurance to do business in this State. (1997-482, s. 2.)

§ 14-401.16. Contaminate food or drink to render one mentally incapacitated or physically helpless.

- (a) It is unlawful knowingly to contaminate any food, drink, or other edible or potable substance with a controlled substance as defined in G.S. 90-87(5) that would render a person mentally incapacitated or physically helpless with the intent of causing another person to be mentally incapacitated or physically helpless.
- (b) It is unlawful knowingly to manufacture, sell, deliver, or possess with the intent to manufacture, sell, deliver, or possess a controlled substance as defined in G.S. 90-87(5) for the purpose of violating this section.
- (c) A violation of this section is a Class H felony. However, if a person violates this section with the intent of committing an offense under G.S. 14-27.22 or G.S. 14-27.27, the violation is a Class G felony.
- (d) This act does not apply if the controlled substance added to the food, drink, or other edible or potable substance is done at the direction of a licensed physician as part of a medical procedure or treatment with the patient's consent. (1997-501, s. 2; 2015-181, s. 39.)

§ 14-401.17. Unlawful removal or destruction of electronic dog collars.

- (a) It is unlawful to intentionally remove or destroy an electronic collar or other electronic device placed on a dog by its owner to maintain control of the dog.
- (b) A first conviction for a violation of this section is a Class 3 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent conviction for a violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor.
- (c) This act is enforceable by officers of the Wildlife Resources Commission, by sheriffs and deputy sheriffs, and peace officers with general subject matter jurisdiction.
- (d) Repealed by Session Laws 2005-94, s. 1, effective December 1, 2005, and applicable to offenses committed on or after that date. (1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 699, s. 1-4; 1995 (Reg. Sess., 1996) c. 682; 1997-150; 1998-6, s. 1; 1999-51, s. 1; 2000-12, s. 1; 2004-60, s. 3; 2005-94, s. 1; 2005-305, s. 4.)

§ 14-401.18. Sale of certain packages of cigarettes prohibited.

(a) Definitions. – The following definitions apply in this section:

- (1) Cigarette. Defined in G.S. 105-113.4.
- (2) Package. Defined in G.S. 105-113.4.
- (b) Offenses. A person who sells or holds for sale (other than for export to a foreign country) a package of cigarettes that meets one or more of the following descriptions commits a Class A1 misdemeanor and engages in an unfair trade practice prohibited by G.S. 75-1.1:
 - (1) The package differs in any respect with the requirements of the Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1331, for the placement of labels, warnings, or any other information upon a package of cigarettes that is to be sold within the United States.
 - (2) The package is labeled "For Export Only," "U.S. Tax Exempt," "For Use Outside U.S.," or has similar wording indicating that the manufacturer did not intend that the product be sold in the United States.
 - (3) The package was altered by adding or deleting the wording, labels, or warnings described in subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection.
 - (4) The package was imported into the United States after January 1, 2000, in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 5754.
 - (5) The package violates federal trademark or copyright laws, federal laws governing the submission of ingredient information to federal authorities pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 1335a, federal laws governing the import of certain cigarettes pursuant to 19 U.S.C. § 1681 and 19 U.S.C. § 1681b, or any other provision of federal law or regulation.
- (c) Contraband. A package of cigarettes described in subsection (b) of this section is contraband and may be seized by a law enforcement officer. The procedure for seizure and disposition of this contraband is the same as the procedure under G.S. 105-113.31 and G.S. 105-113.32 for non-tax-paid cigarettes. (1999-333, s. 5; 2002-145, s. 4.)

§ 14-401.18A. Sale of certain e-liquid containers prohibited.

- (a) The following definitions apply in this section:
 - (1) Child-resistant packaging. Packaging that is designed or constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five years of age to open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the substance contained therein within a reasonable time and not difficult for adults to use properly, but does not mean packaging which all such children cannot open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.
 - (2) E-liquid. A liquid product, whether or not it contains nicotine, that is intended to be vaporized and inhaled using a vapor product.
 - (3) E-liquid container. A bottle or other container of e-liquid. The term does not include a container holding liquid that is intended for use in a vapor product if the container is pre-filled and sealed by the manufacturer and is not intended to be opened by the consumer.
 - (4) Vapor product. Any noncombustible product that employs a mechanical heating element, battery, or electronic circuit regardless of shape or size and that can be used to heat a liquid solution contained in a vapor cartridge. The term includes an electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, and electronic pipe.

- (b) It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, offer for sale, or introduce into commerce in this State an e-liquid container unless the container constitutes child-resistant packaging. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a Class A1 misdemeanor.
- (c) It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, offer for sale, or introduce into commerce in this State an e-liquid container for an e-liquid product containing nicotine unless the packaging for the e-liquid product states that the product contains nicotine. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a Class A1 misdemeanor.
- (d) Any person, firm, or corporation that violates the provisions of this section shall be liable in damages to any person injured as a result of the violation. (2015-141, s. 1.)

§ 14-401.19. Filing false security agreements.

It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, corporation, or any other association of persons in this State, under whatever name styled, to present a record for filing under the provisions of Article 9 of Chapter 25 of the General Statutes with knowledge that the record is not related to a valid security agreement or with the intention that the record be filed for an improper purpose, such as to hinder, harass, or otherwise wrongfully interfere with any person. A violation of this section shall be a Class I felony. (2001-231, s. 5; 2012-150, s. 6.)

§ 14-401.20. Defrauding drug and alcohol screening tests; penalty.

- (a) It is unlawful for a person to do any of the following:
 - (1) Sell, give away, distribute, or market urine in this State or transport urine into this State with the intent that it be used to defraud a drug or alcohol screening test.
 - (2) Attempt to foil or defeat a drug or alcohol screening test by the substitution or spiking of a sample or the advertisement of a sample substitution or other spiking device or measure.
- (b) It is unlawful for a person to do any of the following:
 - (1) Adulterate a urine or other bodily fluid sample with the intent to defraud a drug or alcohol screening test.
 - (2) Possess adulterants that are intended to be used to adulterate a urine or other bodily fluid sample for the purpose of defrauding a drug or alcohol screening test
 - (3) Sell adulterants with the intent that they be used to adulterate a urine or other bodily fluid sample for the purpose of defrauding a drug or alcohol screening test.
- (c) A violation of this section is punishable as follows:
 - (1) For a first offense under this section, the person is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
 - (2) For a second or subsequent offense under this section, the person is guilty of a Class I felony. (2002-183, s. 1.)

§ 14-401.21. Practicing "rebirthing technique"; penalty.

(a) It is unlawful for a person to practice a technique, whether known as a "rebirthing technique" or referred to by any other name, to reenact the birthing process in a manner that includes restraint and creates a situation in which a patient may suffer physical injury or death.

- (b) A violation of this section is punishable as follows:
 - (1) For a first offense under this section, the person is guilty of a Class A1 misdemeanor.
 - (2) For a second or subsequent offense under this section, the person is guilty of a Class I felony.
- (c) No State funds shall be used to pay for the rebirthing technique made unlawful by this section and performed in another state notwithstanding that the technique, whether known as a rebirthing technique or referred to by any other name, is lawful in that other state. (2003-205, s. 1; 2004-124, s. 10.2F.)

§ 14-401.22. Concealment of death; disturbing human remains; dismembering human remains.

- (a) Except as provided in subsection (a1) of this section, any person who, with the intent to conceal the death of a person, fails to notify a law enforcement authority of the death or secretly buries or otherwise secretly disposes of a dead human body is guilty of a Class I felony.
- (a1) Any person who, with the intent to conceal the death of a child, fails to notify a law enforcement authority of the death or secretly buries or otherwise secretly disposes of a dead child's body is guilty of a Class H felony. For purposes of this subsection, a child is any person who is less than 16 years of age.
- (b) Any person who aids, counsels, or abets any other person in concealing the death of a person is guilty of a Class A1 misdemeanor.
- (c) Any person who willfully (i) disturbs, vandalizes, or desecrates human remains, by any means, including any physical alteration or manipulation of the human remains, or (ii) commits or attempts to commit upon any human remains any act of sexual penetration is guilty of a Class I felony. This subsection does not apply to:
 - (1) Acts by a first responder or others providing medical care.
 - (2) Acts committed as part of scientific or medical research, treatment, or diagnosis.
 - (3) Acts performed by a licensed funeral director or embalmer consistent with standard practice.
 - (4) Acts committed for the purpose of extracting body parts in accordance with usual and customary standards of medical practice.
 - (5) Acts by a professional archaeologist as defined in G.S. 70-28(4) acting pursuant to the provisions of Article 3 of Chapter 70 of the General Statutes.
 - (6) Acts committed for any other lawful purpose.
- (d) Any person who attempts to conceal evidence of the death of another by knowingly and willfully dismembering or destroying human remains, by any means, including removing body parts or otherwise obliterating any portion thereof, shall be guilty of a Class H felony.
- (e) Any person who violates subsection (a), (a1), or (d) of this section, knowing or having reason to know the body or human remains are of a person that did not die of natural causes, shall be guilty of a Class D felony.
- (f) As used in this section, "human remains" means any dead human body in any condition of decay or any significant part of a dead human body, including any limb, organ, or bone. (2005-288, s. 1; 2011-193, s. 1; 2013-52, s. 5.)

§ 14-401.23. Unlawful manufacture, sale, delivery, or possession of Salvia divinorum.

- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly or intentionally manufacture, sell or deliver, or possess with intent to manufacture, sell or deliver Salvia divinorum or Salvinorin A.
- (b) It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly or intentionally possess Salvia divinorum or Salvinorin A.
 - (c) A violation of this section is punishable as follows:
 - (1) For a first or second offense under this section, the person is responsible for an infraction and shall be required to pay a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00).
 - (2) For a third or subsequent offense under this section, the person is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor.
 - (d) For purposes of this section:
 - (1) "Deliver" means the actual constructive or attempted transfer of Salvia divinorum or Salvinorin A from one person to another.
 - "Manufacture" means the production, preparation, propagation, compounding, conversion or processing of Salvia divinorum or Salvinorin A by any means, whether directly or indirectly, artificially or naturally, or by extraction from substances of a natural origin, or independently by means of chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and chemical synthesis. Manufacture includes any packaging or repackaging of the substance, or labeling or relabeling of its container, except that this term does not include the preparation or compounding of the substance by an individual for the individual's own use.
 - (3) "Production" includes the manufacture, planting, cultivation, growing, or harvesting of a plant.
 - (e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:
 - (1) Employees or contractors of any accredited college or school of medicine or pharmacy at a public or private university in this State while performing medical or pharmacological research for such institution.
 - (2) The possession, planting, cultivation, growing, or harvesting of a plant strictly for aesthetic, landscaping, or decorative purposes. (2009-538, s. 1.)

§ 14-401.24. Unlawful possession and use of unmanned aircraft systems.

- (a) It shall be a Class E felony for any person to possess or use an unmanned aircraft or unmanned aircraft system that has a weapon attached.
- (b) It shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor for any person to fish or to hunt using an unmanned aircraft system.
 - (c) The following definitions apply to this section:
 - (1) To fish. As defined in G.S. 113-130, except when an unmanned aircraft or unmanned aircraft system is used during, immediately preparatory to, or immediately subsequent to the taking of fish for (i) spotting; locating; recording, broadcasting, or streaming video of fish; or (ii) deploying bait.
 - (2) To hunt. As defined in G.S. 113-130.
 - (3) Unmanned aircraft. As defined in G.S. 15A-300.1.
 - (4) Unmanned aircraft system. As defined in G.S. 15A-300.1.
 - (5) Weapon. Those weapons specified in G.S. 14-269, 14-269.2, 14-284.1, or 14-288.8 and any other object capable of inflicting serious bodily injury or death when used as a weapon.

(d) This section shall not prohibit possession or usage of an unmanned aircraft or unmanned aircraft system that is authorized by federal law or regulation. (2014-100, s. 34.30(d); 2023-69, s. 2.6(a).)

§ 14-401.25. Unlawful distribution of images.

It shall be a Class A1 misdemeanor to publish or disseminate, for any purpose, recorded images taken by a person or non-law enforcement entity through the use of infrared or other similar thermal imaging technology attached to an unmanned aircraft system, as defined in G.S. 15A-300.1, and revealing individuals, materials, or activities inside of a structure without the consent of the property owner. (2014-100, s. 34.30(e).)

§ 14-401.26. TNC driver failure to display license plate information.

It shall be unlawful for a transportation network company (TNC) driver, as defined in G.S. 20-280.1, to fail to display the license plate number of the TNC driver's vehicle as required by G.S. 20-280.5(d). A violation of this section shall be an infraction and shall be punishable by a fine of two hundred fifty dollars (\$250.00). (2019-194, s. 3(a).)

§ 14-401.27. Impersonation of a transportation network company driver.

It shall be unlawful for any person to impersonate a transportation network company (TNC) driver, as defined in G.S. 20-280.1, by a false statement, false display of distinctive signage or emblems known as a trade dress, trademark, branding, or logo of the TNC, or any other act which falsely represents that the person has a current connection with a transportation network company or falsely represents that the person is responding to a passenger ride request for a transportation network company. A violation of this section is a Class H felony if the person impersonates a TNC driver during the commission of a separate felony offense. Any other violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. (2019-194, s. 3.3(a).)