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§ 1‑608.  Civil actions for false claims.
(a)	 Responsibilities of the Attorney General. – The Attorney General diligently shall 

investigate a violation under G.S. 1‑607. If the Attorney General finds that a person has violated 
or is violating G.S. 1‑607, the Attorney General may bring a civil action under this section against 
that person.

(b)	 Actions by Private Persons. – A person may bring a civil action for a violation of 
G.S. 1‑607 for the person and for the State, as follows:

(1)	 The action shall be brought in the name of the State, and the person bringing 
the action shall be referred to as the qui tam plaintiff. The action may be 
dismissed only if the court and Attorney General have given written consent to 
the dismissal and the reasons for consenting.

(2)	 A copy of the complaint and written disclosure of substantially all material 
evidence and information the person possesses shall be served on the Attorney 
General pursuant to applicable rules of the North Carolina Rules of Civil 
Procedure. The complaint shall be filed in camera, shall remain under seal for 
at least 120 days, and shall not be served on the defendant until the court so 
orders. The State may elect to intervene and proceed with the action within 
120 days after it receives both the complaint and the material evidence and 
information.

(3)	 The State may, for good cause shown, move the court for extensions of the 
time during which the complaint remains under seal under subdivision (2) of 
this subsection. Any such motions may be supported by affidavits or other 
submissions in camera. The defendant shall not be required to respond to any 
complaint filed under this section until 30 days after the complaint is unsealed 
and served upon the defendant pursuant to the North Carolina Rules of Civil 
Procedure.

(4)	 Before the expiration of the 120‑day period or any extensions obtained under 
subdivision (3) of this subsection, the State shall:
a.	 Proceed with the action, in which case the action shall be conducted by 

the State; or
b.	 Notify the court that it declines to take over the action, in which case 

the person bringing the action shall have the right to conduct the 
action.

(5)	 Repealed by Session Laws 2018‑41, s. 3, effective June 22, 2018, and 
applicable to actions brought on or after that date.

When a person brings an action under this subsection, no person other than the State may 
intervene or bring a related action based on the facts underlying the pending action.

(c)	 The Attorney General may retain a portion of the damages recovered for a State 
agency out of the proceeds of the action or settlement under this Article as reimbursement for 
costs incurred by the Attorney General in investigating and bringing a civil action under this 
Article, including reasonable attorneys' fees and investigative costs. Retained funds shall be used 
by the Attorney General to carry out the provisions of this Article.  (2009‑554, s. 1; 2010‑96, s. 
25(a); 2018‑41, s. 3.)


