§ 115C-69. Types of districts defined.

The term "district" here used is defined to mean any convenient territorial division or subdivision of a county, created for the purpose of maintaining within its boundaries one or more public schools. It may include one or more incorporated towns or cities, or parts thereof, or one or more townships, or parts thereof, all of which territory is included in a common boundary. There shall be three different kinds of districts:

- (1) The "nontax district" is a territorial division of a local school administrative unit under the control of the local board of education, having no special local tax fund voted by the people for supplementing State and county funds.
- (2) The "local tax district" is a territorial division of a local school administrative unit under the control of the local board of education, having in addition to State and county funds, a special local tax fund voted by the people for supplementing State and county funds.
- (3) The "administrative district" is a territorial division of a county school administrative unit under the control of a county board of education which is established for administrative purposes and which consists of any combination of one or more local tax districts, nontax areas or bond districts of the county school administrative unit. (1955, c. 1372, art. 1, s. 7; 1965, c. 584, s. 1; 1981, c. 423, s. 1; 1985 (Reg. Sess., 1986), c. 975, s. 12.)

G.S. 115c-69