## § 120-74. Appointment of members; terms of office.

The Commission shall consist of 42 members. The President pro tempore of the Senate, the Speaker pro tempore of the House, the Deputy President pro tempore of the Senate, the Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the Majority Leader of the Senate and the Speaker of the House shall serve as ex officio members of the Commission. The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint 21 members from the House, at least five of whom are members of the minority party. The President pro tempore of the Senate shall appoint 21 members from the Senate, at least five of whom are members of the minority party. A quorum of the Commission shall be a majority of its members. Vacancies created by resignation or otherwise shall be filled by the original appointing authority. Members shall serve two-year terms beginning and ending on January 15 of the odd-numbered years. Members shall not be disqualified from completing a term of service on the Commission because they fail to run or are defeated for reelection. Resignation or removal from the General Assembly shall constitute resignation or removal from membership on the Commission. (1975, c. 490; 1977, c. 988, s. 1; 1979, c. 932, s. 9; 1981, c. 859, s. 85; 1985, c. 757, s. 142(a)-(c); 1991, c. 72, s. 1; 1995, c. 542, s. 24.1(a); 1997-495, s. 92; 1999-405, s. 1; 1999-431, s. 3.5(a); 2001-486, s. 2.6; 2011-291, s. 1.2(c); 2021-90, s. 20(a).)

G.S. 120-74 Page 1