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§ 143‑143.4.  (Effective until January 1, 2025) Door lock exemption for certain businesses.
(a)	 Notwithstanding this Article or any other law to the contrary, any business entity 

licensed to sell automatic weapons as a federal firearms dealer that is in the business of selling 
firearms or ammunition and that operates a firing range which rents firearms and sells 
ammunition shall be exempt from the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 of Volume 1 of the 
North Carolina State Building Code when issued a permit to that effect by the Office of the State 
Fire Marshal in accordance with this section.

(b)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall issue a permit to a business entity specified 
in subsection (a) of this section for an exemption from the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 
of Volume 1 of the North Carolina State Building Code if all of the following conditions are met:

(1)	 The building or facility in which business is conducted has a sales floor and 
customer occupancy space that is contained on one floor and is no larger than 
15,000 square feet of retail sales space. Retail sales space is that area where 
firearms or ammunition are displayed and merchandised for sale to the public.

(2)	 The building or facility in which business is conducted is equipped with an 
approved smoke, fire, and break‑in alarm system installed and operated in 
accordance with rules adopted by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. An 
approved smoke, fire, or break‑in alarm system does not have to include an 
automatic door unlocking mechanism triggered when the smoke, fire, or 
break‑in alarm system is triggered.

(3)	 The owner or operator of the business will provide to all applicable employees 
within 10 days of the issuance of the permit under this section or at the time the 
employee is hired, whichever time is later, a written facility locking plan 
applicable for the close of business each day.

(4)	 Each entrance to the building or facility in which business is conducted is 
posted with a sign conspicuously located that warns that the building is 
exempt from the door lock requirements of the State Building Code, and that 
after business hours the building or facility's doors will remain locked from 
the inside even in the case of fire.

(5)	 Payment of a permit fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) to the Office of the 
State Fire Marshal.

(c)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall file a copy of the permit issued in 
accordance with subsection (b) of this section with all local law enforcement and fire protection 
agencies that provide protection for the business entity.

(d)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall be responsible for any inspections 
necessary for the issuance of permits under this section and, in conjunction with local inspection 
departments, shall be responsible for periodic inspections to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of this section. The Office of the State Fire Marshal may contract with local 
inspection departments to conduct inspections under this subsection.

(e)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall revoke a permit issued under this section 
upon a finding that the requirements for the original issuance of the permit are not being complied 
with.

(f)	 Appeals of decisions of the Office of the State Fire Marshal regarding the issuance or 
revocation of permits under this section shall be in accordance with Chapter 150B of the General 
Statutes.

(g)	 For the purposes of this section, "business entity" has the same meaning as in 
G.S. 59‑102.

(h)	 In addition to the provisions of G.S. 143‑138(h), the owner or operator of any business 
entity who is issued a permit as a door lock exempt business in accordance with subsection (b) of 
this section who fails to comply with the permit requirements of subsection (b) of this section 
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shall be subject to a civil penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for the first offense, one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) for the second offense, and five thousand dollars ($5,000) for the third 
and subsequent offenses, except when the building or facility in which business is conducted is in 
compliance with the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 of Volume 1 of the North Carolina 
State Building Code. Penalties authorized in this subsection shall be imposed by the city or 
county in which the violation occurs. Each day the building or facility in which business is 
conducted is not in compliance with the provisions of this subsection constitutes a separate 
offense.

(i)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules to implement this section.  
(2001‑324, s. 1; 2023‑151, s. 11.62(a).)

§ 143‑143.4.  (Effective January 1, 2025) Door lock exemption for certain businesses.
(a)	 Notwithstanding this Article or any other law to the contrary, any business entity 

licensed to sell automatic weapons as a federal firearms dealer that is in the business of selling 
firearms or ammunition and that operates a firing range which rents firearms and sells 
ammunition shall be exempt from the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 of Volume 1 of the 
North Carolina State Building Code when issued a permit to that effect by the Office of the State 
Fire Marshal in accordance with this section.

(b)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall issue a permit to a business entity specified 
in subsection (a) of this section for an exemption from the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 
of Volume 1 of the North Carolina State Building Code if all of the following conditions are met:

(1)	 The building or facility in which business is conducted has a sales floor and 
customer occupancy space that is contained on one floor and is no larger than 
15,000 square feet of retail sales space. Retail sales space is that area where 
firearms or ammunition are displayed and merchandised for sale to the public.

(2)	 The building or facility in which business is conducted is equipped with an 
approved smoke, fire, and break‑in alarm system installed and operated in 
accordance with rules adopted by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. An 
approved smoke, fire, or break‑in alarm system does not have to include an 
automatic door unlocking mechanism triggered when the smoke, fire, or 
break‑in alarm system is triggered.

(3)	 The owner or operator of the business will provide to all applicable employees 
within 10 days of the issuance of the permit under this section or at the time the 
employee is hired, whichever time is later, a written facility locking plan 
applicable for the close of business each day.

(4)	 Each entrance to the building or facility in which business is conducted is 
posted with a sign conspicuously located that warns that the building is 
exempt from the door lock requirements of the State Building Code, and that 
after business hours the building or facility's doors will remain locked from 
the inside even in the case of fire.

(5)	 Payment of a permit fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00) to the Office of the 
State Fire Marshal.

(c)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall file a copy of the permit issued in 
accordance with subsection (b) of this section with all local law enforcement and fire protection 
agencies that provide protection for the business entity.

(d)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall be responsible for any inspections 
necessary for the issuance of permits under this section and, in conjunction with local inspection 
departments, shall be responsible for periodic inspections to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of this section. The Office of the State Fire Marshal may contract with local 
inspection departments to conduct inspections under this subsection.
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(e)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall revoke a permit issued under this section 
upon a finding that the requirements for the original issuance of the permit are not being complied 
with.

(f)	 Appeals of decisions of the Office of the State Fire Marshal regarding the issuance or 
revocation of permits under this section shall be in accordance with Chapter 150B of the General 
Statutes.

(g)	 For the purposes of this section, "business entity" has the same meaning as in 
G.S. 59‑102.

(h)	 In addition to the provisions of G.S. 143‑138(h), the owner or operator of any business 
entity who is issued a permit as a door lock exempt business in accordance with subsection (b) of 
this section who fails to comply with the permit requirements of subsection (b) of this section 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for the first offense, one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) for the second offense, and five thousand dollars ($5,000) for the third 
and subsequent offenses, except when the building or facility in which business is conducted is in 
compliance with the door lock requirements of Chapter 10 of Volume 1 of the North Carolina 
State Building Code. Penalties authorized in this subsection shall be imposed by the city or 
county in which the violation occurs. Each day the building or facility in which business is 
conducted is not in compliance with the provisions of this subsection constitutes a separate 
offense.

(i)	 The Office of the State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules to implement this section.  
(2001‑324, s. 1; 2023‑151, s. 11.62(a).)


