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§ 143‑215.88A.  Enforcement procedures: civil penalties.
(a)	 Any person who intentionally or negligently discharges oil or other hazardous 

substances, or knowingly causes or permits the discharge of oil in violation of this Part or fails 
to report a discharge as required by G.S. 143‑215.85 or who fails to comply with the 
requirements of G.S. 143‑215.84(a) or orders issued by the Commission as a result of 
violations thereof, shall incur, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, a penalty in an 
amount not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for every such violation, the amount to be 
determined by the Secretary after taking into consideration the factors set out in G.S. 
143B‑282.1(b), the amount expended by the violator in complying with the provisions of G.S. 
143‑215.84, and the estimated damages attributed to the violator under G.S. 143‑215.90. Every 
act or omission which causes, aids or abets a violation of this subsection shall be considered a 
violation under the provisions of this subsection and subject to the penalty herein provided. The 
procedures set out in G.S. 143‑215.6 and G.S. 143B‑282.1 shall apply to civil penalties 
assessed under this section. The penalty herein provided for shall become due and payable 
when the person incurring the penalty receives a notice in writing from the Commission 
describing the violation with reasonable particularity and advising such person that the penalty 
is due. A person may contest a penalty by filing a petition for a contested case under G.S. 
150B‑23 within 30 days after receiving notice of the penalty. If any civil penalty has not been 
paid within 30 days after notice of assessment has been served on the violator, the Secretary 
shall request the Attorney General to institute a civil action in the Superior Court of any county 
in which the violator resides or has his or its principal place of business to recover the amount 
of the assessment, unless the violator contests the assessment as provided in this subsection, or 
requests remission of the assessment in whole or in  part. If any civil penalty has not been paid 
within 30 days after the final agency decision or court order has been served on the violator, the 
Secretary shall request the Attorney General to institute a civil action in the Superior Court of 
any county in which the violator resides or has his or its principal place of business to recover 
the amount of the assessment. Notification received pursuant to this subsection or information 
obtained by the exploitation of such notification shall not be used against any person in any 
criminal case, except as prosecution for perjury or for giving a false statement.

(b)	 The civil penalties provided by this section, except the civil penalty for failure to 
report, shall not apply to the discharge of a pesticide regulated by the North Carolina Pesticide 
Board, if such discharge would constitute a violation of the North Carolina Pesticide Law and 
if such discharge has not entered the surface waters of the State.

(c)	 The clear proceeds of civil penalties provided for in this section shall be remitted to 
the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C‑457.2. (1973, c. 534, s. 1; 
1973, c. 1262, s. 23; 1979, c. 535, ss. 25, 26; 1987, c. 270; c. 827, ss. 154, 197; 1989 (Reg. 
Sess., 1990), c. 1036, s. 6; c. 1045, s. 7; c. 1075, s. 8; 1998‑215, s. 67(a).)


