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§ 148‑32.1.  Local confinement, costs, alternate facilities, parole, work release.
(a)	 Repealed by Session Laws 2009‑451, s. 19.22A, effective July 1, 2009.
(b)	 In the event that the custodian of the local confinement facility certifies in writing to 

the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the local confinement facility is located that 
the local confinement facility is filled to capacity, or that the facility cannot reasonably 
accommodate any more prisoners due to segregation requirements for particular prisoners, or that 
the custodian anticipates, in light of local experiences, an influx of temporary prisoners at that 
time, or if the local confinement facility does not meet the minimum standards published 
pursuant to G.S. 153A‑221, any judge of the district court in the district court district as defined in 
G.S. 7A‑133 where the facility is located, or any superior court judge who has jurisdiction 
pursuant to G.S. 7A‑47.1 or G.S. 7A‑48 in a district or set of districts as defined in G.S. 7A‑41.1 
where the facility is located may order that a prisoner not housed pursuant to the Statewide 
Misdemeanant Confinement Program established in subsection (b2) of this section be transferred 
to any other qualified local confinement facility within that district or within another such district 
where space is available, including a satellite jail unit operated pursuant to G.S. 153A‑230.3 if the 
prisoner is a non‑violent misdemeanant, which local facility shall accept the transferred prisoner.

If no other local confinement facility is available and the reason for the requested transfer is 
that the local confinement facility that would be required to house the prisoner cannot reasonably 
accommodate any more prisoners due to segregation requirements for particular prisoners or the 
local facility does not meet the minimum standards published pursuant to G.S. 153A‑221, then 
the judge may order that a prisoner not housed pursuant to the Statewide Misdemeanant 
Confinement Program established in subsection (b2) of this section be transferred to a facility 
operated by the Division of Prisons of the Department of Adult Correction as designated by the 
Division of Prisons. In no event, however, shall a prisoner whose term of imprisonment is less 
than 30 days be assigned or ordered transferred to a facility operated by the Division of Prisons.

(b1)	 It is the intent of the General Assembly to authorize the Division of Prisons to enter 
into voluntary agreements with counties to provide housing for misdemeanants serving periods of 
confinement of more than 90 days and for all sentences imposed for impaired driving under 
G.S. 20‑138.1, regardless of length. It is further the intent of the General Assembly that the 
Division of Prisons, in conjunction with the North Carolina Sheriffs' Association, Inc., establish a 
program for housing misdemeanants serving periods of confinement of more than 90 days and for 
all sentences imposed for impaired driving under G.S. 20‑138.1, regardless of length. It is also the 
intent of the General Assembly that the Division of Prisons contract with the North Carolina 
Sheriffs' Association, Inc., to provide a service that identifies space in local confinement facilities 
that is available for housing these misdemeanants.

The General Assembly intends that the cost of housing and caring for these misdemeanants, 
including, but not limited to, care, supervision, transportation, medical, and any other related 
costs, be covered by State funds and not be imposed as a local cost. Therefore, the General 
Assembly intends that the funds appropriated for the Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement 
Program be used to provide funding to cover the costs of managing a system for providing that 
housing of misdemeanants in local confinement facilities as well as reimbursing the counties for 
housing and related expenses for those misdemeanants.

(b2)	 The Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Program is established. The Program 
shall provide for the housing of misdemeanants from all counties serving sentences imposed for a 
period of more than 90 days and for all sentences imposed for impaired driving under 
G.S. 20‑138.1, regardless of length. Those misdemeanants shall be confined in local confinement 
facilities except as provided in subsections (b3) and (b4) of this section. The Program shall 
address methods for the placement and transportation of inmates and reimbursement to counties 
for the housing of those inmates. Any county that voluntarily agrees to house misdemeanants 
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from that county or from other counties pursuant to the Program may enter into a written 
agreement with the Division of Prisons to do so.

The North Carolina Sheriffs' Association shall:
(1)	 Report no later than the fifteenth day of each month to the Office of State 

Budget and Management and the Fiscal Research Division on the Statewide 
Misdemeanant Confinement Program. Each monthly report shall include all 
of the following:
a.	 The daily population delineated by misdemeanant or DWI monthly 

housing.
b.	 The cost of housing prisoners under the Program.
c.	 The cost of transporting prisoners under the Program.
d.	 Personnel costs.
e.	 Inmate medical care costs.
f.	 The number of counties that volunteer to house inmates under the 

Program.
g.	 The administrative costs paid to the Sheriffs' Association and to the 

Department of Adult Correction.
(2)	 Report no later than October 1 of each year to the chairs of the House of 

Representatives Appropriations Committee on Justice and Public Safety and 
the Senate Appropriations Committee on Justice and Public Safety and the 
Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Justice and Public Safety on the 
Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Program. The report shall include the 
following with respect to the prior fiscal year:
a.	 The cost of housing prisoners by county under the Program.
b.	 The cost of transporting prisoners by county under the Program.
c.	 Personnel costs by county.
d.	 Inmate medical care costs by county.
e.	 The number of counties that volunteer to house inmates under the 

Program.
f.	 The administrative costs paid to the Sheriffs' Association and to the 

Department of Adult Correction.
(b3)	 The custodian of a local confinement facility may request a judicial order to transfer a 

misdemeanant housed pursuant to the Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Program to a 
facility operated by the Division of Prisons by certifying in writing to the clerk of the superior 
court in the county in which the local confinement facility is located that one of the following 
conditions is met:

(1)	 The misdemeanant poses a security risk because the misdemeanant:
a.	 Poses a serious escape risk.
b.	 Exhibits violently aggressive behavior that cannot be contained and 

warrants a higher level of supervision.
c.	 Needs to be protected from other inmates, and the county jail facility 

cannot provide such protection.
d.	 Is a female or a person 18 years of age or younger, and the county jail 

facility does not have adequate housing for such prisoners.
e.	 Is in custody at a time when a fire or other catastrophic event has 

caused the county jail facility to cease or curtail operations.
f.	 Otherwise poses an imminent danger to the staff of the county jail 

facility or to other prisoners in the facility.
(2)	 The misdemeanant requires medical or mental health treatment that the county 

decides can best be provided by the Division of Prisons.
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(3)	 The local confinement facility that would be required to house the prisoner (i) 
cannot reasonably accommodate any more prisoners due to segregation 
requirements for particular prisoners, or the local facility does not meet the 
minimum standards published pursuant to G.S. 153A‑221, and (ii) no other 
local confinement facility is available.

Upon receiving such request and certification in writing, any superior or district court judge 
for the district in which the local confinement facility is located may, after ascertaining that the 
request meets the criteria set forth in subdivision (1), (2), or (3) of this subsection, order the 
misdemeanant transferred to a unit of the State prison system designated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Adult Correction or the Secretary's authorized representative. Individuals meeting 
the condition set forth in subdivision (2) of this subsection may be ordered to be transferred for an 
initial period not to exceed 30 days. The sheriff of the county from which the prisoner is removed 
shall be responsible for conveying the prisoner to the prison unit where the prisoner is to be held 
and for returning the prisoner to the jail of the county from which the prisoner was transferred. 
The officer in charge of the prison unit designated by the Secretary of the Department of Adult 
Correction shall receive custody of the prisoner in accordance with the terms of the order. Prior to 
the conclusion of the 30‑day period, the Division of Prisons shall conduct an assessment of 
treatment and venue needs. The assessment shall be conducted by the attending medical or 
mental health professional and shall assess the medical and mental health needs of the prisoner 
and make a recommendation on whether the prisoner should remain in the custody of the 
Division of Prisons of the Department of Adult Correction or if the prisoner should be returned to 
the custody of the county. To extend the order beyond the initial 30‑day period, the sheriff shall 
provide the Division of Prisons assessment and any other relevant information to the resident 
judge or the superior court or any judge holding superior court in the district or any district court 
judge who shall determine whether to extend the transfer of the prisoner to a unit of the State 
prison system beyond the initial 30‑day period. If the judge determines that the prisoner should 
remain in the custody of the Division of Prisons, the judge shall renew the order and include a 
date certain for review by the court. Prior to the date of review, the Division shall conduct a 
reassessment of treatment and venue needs and the sheriff shall provide the reassessment and any 
other relevant information to the court, as described in this subsection. If the judge determines 
that the prisoner should not remain in the custody of the Division of Prisons, the officer in charge 
of the prison unit designated by the Secretary of the Department of Adult Correction shall release 
custody of the prisoner in accordance with the court order and the instructions of the attending 
medical or mental health professional. The Division of Prisons shall be reimbursed from the 
Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Fund for the costs of housing the misdemeanant, 
including the care, supervision, and transportation of the misdemeanant.

(b4)	 A misdemeanant housed under the Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Program 
established pursuant to subsection (b2) of this section may be transferred to a facility operated by 
the Division of Prisons if the North Carolina Sheriffs' Association, Inc., determines that the local 
confinement facilities available for housing misdemeanants under the Program are filled to 
capacity. The Division of Prisons shall be reimbursed from the Statewide Misdemeanant 
Confinement Fund for the costs of housing the misdemeanant, including the care, supervision, 
and transportation of the misdemeanant.

(c)	 Repealed by Session Laws 2015‑40, s. 6.
(d)	 When a prisoner serving a sentence of 30 days or more in a local confinement facility 

is placed on work release pursuant to a recommendation of the sentencing court, the custodian of 
the facility shall forward the prisoner's work‑release earnings to the Division of Prisons, which 
shall disburse the earnings as determined under G.S. 148‑33.1(f). When a prisoner serving a 
sentence of 30 days or more in a local confinement facility is placed on work release pursuant to 
an order of the sentencing court, the custodian of the facility shall forward the prisoner's 
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work‑release earnings to the clerk of the court that sentenced the prisoner or to the Division of 
Prisons, as provided in the prisoner's commitment order. The clerk or the Division, as appropriate, 
shall disburse the earnings as provided in the prisoner's commitment order. Upon agreement 
between the Division of Prisons and the custodian of the local confinement facility, however, the 
clerk may disburse to the local confinement facility the amount of the earnings to be paid for the 
cost of the prisoner's keep, and that amount shall be set off against the reimbursement to be paid 
by the Department to the local confinement facility pursuant to G.S. 148‑32.1(a).

(e)	 Upon entry of a prisoner serving a sentence of imprisonment for impaired driving 
under G.S. 20‑138.1 into a local confinement facility or to a detention facility approved by the 
Division of Juvenile Justice of the Department of Public Safety pursuant to this section, the 
custodian of the local confinement facility or detention facility shall forward to the Post‑Release 
Supervision and Parole Commission information pertaining to the prisoner so as to make him 
eligible for parole consideration pursuant to G.S. 15A‑1371. Such information shall include date 
of incarceration, jail credit, and such other information as may be required by the Post‑Release 
Supervision and Parole Commission. The Post‑Release Supervision and Parole Commission 
shall approve a form upon which the custodian shall furnish this information, which form will be 
provided to the custodian by the Division of Prisons.  (1977, c. 450, s. 3; c. 925, s. 2; 1981, c. 859, 
s. 25; 1985, c. 226, s. 3(1), (2); 1985 (Reg. Sess., 1986), c. 1014, ss. 199, 201(e); 1987, c. 7, ss. 2, 
6; 1987 (Reg. Sess., 1988), c. 1037, s. 120; c. 1100, s. 17.4(a); 1989, c. 1, s. 2; c. 761, s. 3; 1991, c. 
217, s. 6; 1993, c. 538, s. 33; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 65; c. 24, s. 14(b); 1995, c. 324, s. 19.9(f); 
1997‑456, s. 23; 2004‑199, s. 48; 2004‑203, s. 54; 2009‑451, s. 19.22A; 2011‑145, s. 19.1(h), (i); 
2011‑192, s. 7(a), (d), (e), (g); 2014‑100, s. 16C.1(f); 2015‑40, s. 6; 2016‑94, s. 17C.1(d); 
2017‑186, s. 2(vvvvvvv); 2020‑83, ss. 8(m), 9(b); 2021‑180, ss. 19C.2, 19C.9(p), (q), (z); 
2023‑121, s. 16(g); 2023‑134, s. 19B.7(a).)


