§ 160A-605. Membership; officers; compensation.

(a) The governing body of an authority is the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees shall consist of 13 members, appointed as follows:

- (1) The county with the greatest population shall be allocated five members to be appointed as follows:
 - a. Two by the board of commissioners of that county;
 - b. Two by the city council of the city containing the largest population within that county; and
 - c. One by the city council of the city containing the second largest population within that county;
- (2) The county with the next greatest population shall be allocated three members to be appointed as follows:
 - a. One by the board of commissioners of that county;
 - b. One by the city council of the city containing the largest population within that county; and
 - c. One jointly by that board of commissioners and city council, by procedures agreed on between them;
- (3) The county with the least population shall be allocated two members to be appointed as follows:
 - a. One by the board of commissioners of that county; and
 - b. One by the city council of the city containing the largest population within that county; and
- (4) Three members of the Board of Transportation appointed by the Secretary of Transportation, to serve as ex officio nonvoting members.

(b) Voting members of the Board of Trustees shall serve for terms of four years, provided that one-half of the initial appointments shall be for two-year terms, to be determined by lot at the first meeting of the Board of Trustees. Initial terms of office shall commence upon approval by the Secretary of State of the articles of incorporation. The members appointed by the Secretary of Transportation shall serve at his pleasure.

(c) An appointing authority may appoint one of its members to the Board of Trustees. Service on the Board of Trustees may be in addition to any other office which a person is entitled to hold. Each voting member of the Board of Trustees may hold elective public office as defined by G.S. 128-1.1(d).

(d) Members of the Board of Trustees, except members appointed by the Secretary of Transportation, shall reside within the territorial jurisdiction of the Authority as defined by G.S. 160A-604.

(e) The Board of Trustees shall annually elect from its membership a Chairperson, and a Vice-Chairperson, and shall annually elect a Secretary, and a Treasurer.

(f) Members of the Board of Trustees shall receive the sum of fifty dollars (\$50.00) as compensation for attendance at each duly conducted meeting of the Authority. (1989, c. 740, s. 1; 2024-15, s. 11.)