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§ 95‑138.  Civil penalties.
(a)	 The Commissioner, upon recommendation of the Director, or the North Carolina 

Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission in the case of an appeal, shall have the 
authority to assess penalties against any employer who violates the requirements of this Article, 
or any standard, rule, or order adopted under this Article, for amounts set in accordance with 
subsection (a1) of this section, except as otherwise provided, as follows:

(1)	 A penalty shall be assessed for each willful or repeat violation.
(2)	 A penalty shall be assessed for each serious violation.
(2a)	 A penalty of up to twenty‑nine thousand dollars ($29,000) shall be assessed 

for each serious violation that involves injury to an employee under 18 years 
of age.

(2b)	 A penalty may be assessed for each violation that is adjudged not to be of a 
serious nature.

(3)	 A penalty shall be assessed against an employer who fails to correct and abate 
a violation, within the period allowed for its correction and abatement, which 
period shall not begin to run until the date of the final Order of the 
Commission in the case of any appeal proceedings in this Article initiated by 
the employer in good faith and not solely for the delay of avoidance of 
penalties. The assessment shall be made to apply to each day during which the 
failure or violation continues.

(4)	 A penalty shall be assessed for violating the posting requirements, as required 
under the provisions of this Article.

(a1)	 The Commissioner shall adjust minimum and maximum civil penalties in this section 
in accordance with the requirements set forth in the United States Consumer Price Index for All 
Urban Consumers published by the United States Department of Labor as necessary to comply 
with federal law. The Commissioner shall have a period of 60 calendar days from the date a final 
rule is published in the Federal Register to publish the civil penalties in the North Carolina 
Register under 13 NCAC 07A .0301 or any related or subsequent regulations setting penalty 
standards in compliance with Part 1903 of Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and on its 
website.

(b)	 The Commissioner shall adopt uniform standards that the Commissioner, the 
Commission, and the hearing examiner shall apply when determining appropriateness of the 
penalty. The following factors shall be used in determining whether a penalty is appropriate:

(1)	 Size of the business of the employer being charged.
(2)	 The gravity of the violation.
(3)	 The good faith of the employer.
(4)	 The record of previous violations; provided that for purposes of determining 

repeat violations, only the record within the previous three years is applicable.
(5)	 Whether the violation involves injury to an employee under 18 years of age.

(b1)	 The report of the hearing examiner and the report, decision, or determination of the 
Commission on appeal shall specify the standards applied in determining the reduction or 
affirmation of the penalty assessed by the Commissioner.

(c)	 The clear proceeds of all civil penalties and interest recovered by the Commissioner, 
together with the costs thereof, shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in 
accordance with G.S. 115C‑457.2.  (1973, c. 295, s. 13; 1987 (Reg. Sess., 1988), c. 1111, s. 12; 
1989 (Reg. Sess., 1990), c. 844; 1991, c. 329, s. 1; c. 761, s. 17; 1993, c. 474, s. 2; 1998‑215, s. 
111; 2004‑203, s. 39(a); 2005‑133, s. 8; 2006‑39, s. 3; 2009‑351, s. 4; 2022‑74, s. 13.2(a).)


